by Mute State

  • Streaming + Download



Free single!
Behind the electronic and downtempo jazzy notes of Mute State is the Copenhagen-based jazz guitarist Tao Højgaard. Tao, who is influenced by some of the high profile jazz musicians such as Jim Hall and Miles Davis as well as a wealth of electronic composers, was involved in the Copenhagen jazz scene in the 90’s, and played alongside some of Scandinavia’s foremost jazz musicians.
Through looping guitar and speech samples with a wide array of guitar pedals and loop machines, Tao creates the music of Mute State in the here and now. By focusing on curiosity and playfulness, the lush and textured soundscapes are created in real time, morphing the improvisational expression into a nonlinear storyline.
Mute State’s music is, by its own right, poetry. The dreamy and melodic sounds have the ability to take the listener on a picturesque journey.
If you have any questions you want answered, be sure to check out the website www.mutestate.com


released September 5, 2016



all rights reserved


Mute State Copenhagen, Denmark

Copenhagen-based Mute State aka guitarist Tao Hojgaard creates soundscapes and subtle electronic music in real time. Equipped with a guitar, a sampler and a wide array of effects pedals Tao sculpts beautiful and subtly complex music with a strong sense of melody and a clear reference to his Scandinavian roots.

A new ”sound” – a sound possibly best defined as dreamy, lyrical fabulating film music.
... more

contact / help

Contact Mute State

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code